Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


FOR THE RECORD

Francis Cardinal GeorgeEd Note: The Armaticii family was traveling this weekend. Had the most unexpected pleasure of meeting His Excellency, Bishop Bernard Fellay SSPX. Actually, I was so surprised, that my mind went blank. Couldn’t think of a question to ask him, aside from the usual pleasantries. Besides, the venue wasn’t suitable for him answering anything that I would have wanted to ask him. Know what I mean? Maybe it’s better this way.;) But on an aside, the little Armaticii loved him. Got some great, and I mean GREAT photos, (e.g., His Excellency “attempting to strangle” my younger son is a hit with the family).  However…. since I am anonymous, it is your loss, dear reader. Anyways, the skinny is that he is the sort who you definitely would want to have a beer with. But that is a story for a different post.

As to the official stuff, as per His Excellency’s homily, status quo with respect to the situation with Rome. From what I understood, the biggest problem is that the people in the Curial dicasteries can’t make up their mind. Some are for the SSPX others against. Also, His Excellency had only good things to say about Francis, i.e. has been helpful with administrative matters with respect to individual priests of the Society as well as with the Society matter in general, both in Buenos Aires and Rome. Sounds like Francis is holding back some of the “cowboys” who want to cause trouble. Also had good things to say about Archbishop Pozzo. As for Card. Muller and Marx, not so much. Anyways, the Synod is on everyones mind, both in Rome and in Menzingen. A LOT OF UNCERTAINTY, and it could go horribly wrong was the gist of the message.

Update 16:33 Monday 20 April 2015

I should have stated this earlier so as not to create any confusion. Bishop Fellay said that SSPX position is firm. I understood this to mean “non-negotiable”. It is in the dicasteries where the confusion about what to do next exists.

But back to today’s post. Yesterday, Good Shepard Sunday was 170 days from the commencement of the Synod of Bishops. However, I will continue my blogs remembrance of Francis Cardinal George, may he rest in peace. As I mentioned in the previous post, I was a great admirer of Cardinal George. The below is one example of the legacy that remains. This is a partial re-blog from the website of the Canons Regular of St. John Cantius. For the entire post: (see here).

AT HIS FINAL MASS as Archbishop of Chicago, Francis Cardinal George told the congregation packed into the cathedral that he would point to them as evidence of his work: “At some point, Christ will question me: What have you done with my people? Are they holier because of your ministry? Are they more generous, more loving toward others? In short, you are my legacy.”

When Cardinal George responds to Christ’s question, he can certainly point also to the growing community of brothers and priests of the Canons Regular of St. John Cantius as a part of that legacy.

To read the rest, please visit the website of the Canons.

And one final photo:

Canons of St. John CantiusAll photos are from the Canons Regular website.

