Works of Mercy« Laudato Sie, mi Signore… » — The Encyclical which needs to be written, is an effort from the From Rome blog. I will have more to say on it and how it relates to the upcoming Synod of Bishops in the coming days.

The reason that I am bringing this to your attention is that recently I have come across some very “unconventional” theories about what constitutes “papal teaching” and the Catholic Magisterium. Most of these highly unconventional voices appear to originate from one particular country. Actually, one can say they originate from one particular South American country. And I think we all know which one.

But back to the point. As Catholics we are called up to perform Works of Mercy. Works of Mercy are denoted as either Corporal and as Spiritual. The 7 Spiritual Works of Mercy are defined as follows:

  1. To instruct the ignorant;
  2. To counsel the doubtful;
  3. To admonish sinners;
  4. To bear wrongs patiently;
  5. To forgive offenses willingly;
  6. To comfort the afflicted;
  7. To pray for the living and the dead

The reason that I bring this up is that from what I have been able to observer, the From Rome blog and the posts that it produces is by far the best example of a site whose implicit mission is one of fraternal correction, that I have come across. It is in all of our best interest, to learn our faith so that the Works of Mercy that we perform will be effective.

And it is in this spirit that I re-publish the  « Laudato Sie, mi Signore… » post.

